Workforce of the Future Survey

On March 12, 2019, ADNOC launched its inaugural global “Workforce of the Future” survey to examine future workforce and employment trends in the oil and gas industry, particularly as the industry looks to attract STEM talent and enable the 4th Industrial Age. 

The “Workforce of the Future” survey advances ADNOC’s Oil & Gas 4.0 mission to help meet the world’s increasing demand for energy and higher-value products by fostering a dynamic and performance-led culture that cultivates talent and applies the latest technology to optimize resources. 

To download the full report, click the image below:

 

The survey findings show that the oil and gas industry is facing strong competition in attracting science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) talent, with 44% of STEM Millennials and Generation Zs (Gen Z) interested in pursuing a career in oil and gas, compared to 77% in the technology sector, 58% in life sciences and pharmaceuticals, and 57% in healthcare.

Key Findings

“Salary,” “work-life balance,” “job stability,” “on-the-job fulfilment,” and “a good work environment” are ranked the top five drivers behind potential career choices for STEM Millennials and Gen Zs.

Young STEM talent also associate the oil and gas industry with high salaries and see it as an industry that is invaluable. “The industry pays well,” “the industry is crucial for their country’s economy and development,” and it is “an industry we couldn’t live without,” are ranked as the top three positive attributes about the industry.

STEM Millennials and Gen Zs show the most interest in industries that they believe will be most impacted by new technologies. Globally, 42% say that new technologies will have a major impact on the oil and gas industry, while 56% say the same for healthcare, 53% for life sciences and pharmaceuticals, and 73% for the technology industry. 

Additional Key Findings Below:

Methodology

The ADNOC-commissioned survey included 3,075 quantitative interviews with young STEM talent across 10 countries that represent a mix of the major global economies, and producers and consumers of oil and gas. The countries included the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, China, India, Japan, Saudi Arabia and the UAE.

The survey focused on STEM students and young professionals across three key life stages:

STEM Secondary Students: studying at least one STEM subject as part of their secondary school curriculum

STEM University Students: studying a STEM subject as their primary course at university

Young Professionals: who studied a STEM subject as their primary course at university and had been working full-time for less than five years

To read the press release about ADNOC’s inaugural global “Workforce of the Future” survey, please click here.

استطلاع للآراء حول "موظفي المستقبل"

في 12 مارس 2019، أطلقت أدنوك استطلاعاً عالمياً للآراء حول "موظفي المستقبل" بهدف استقصاء وتحديد وإدراك الاتجاهات الرئيسة لموظفي المستقبل وكذلك لأنماط التوظيف في قطاع النفط والغاز، لا سيما وأن القطاع يسعى إلى استقطاب أصحاب الكفاءات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للتمكن من الريادة في العصر الصناعي الرابع. 

ويقدم استطلاع "موظفي المستقبل" مفهوم أدنوك "النفط والغاز 4.0" الهادف إلى تلبية الطلب العالمي المتزايد على الطاقة والمنتجات عالية القيمة من خلال ترسيخ ثقافة تركز على مواكبة التطورات من خلال تعزيز المرونة والارتقاء بالأداء وإعداد المواهب والكفاءات المؤهلة وتوظيف أحدث التقنيات لتحسين الموارد وتحقيق أقصى قيمة منها.

لتنزيل التقرير الكامل، يرجى الضغط على الصورة أدناه:  

 

وبيّنت نتائج الاستطلاع أن قطاع النفط والغاز يواجه منافسة قوية في جذب أصحاب الكفاءات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، حيث قال 44% من الشباب أصحاب الكفاءات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من أبناء وبنات جيل الألفية والجيل "زد" إنهم مهتمون ببناء مسارهم المهني في مجال النفط والغاز مقارنة بـ 77% في قطاع التكنولوجيا، و58% في علوم الحياة والمستحضرات الصيدلانية، و57% في الرعاية الصحية. 

نتائج رئيسية

صُنفت الرواتب، والتوازن بين العمل والحياة، والاستقرار الوظيفي، والرضا الوظيفي، وبيئة العمل الجيدة، بالعوامل الخمسة الأولى وراء الخيارات الوظيفية المحتملة لأصحاب الكفاءات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من أبناء وبنات جيل الألفية والجيل "زد".
ربط الشباب من أصحاب الكفاءات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كذلك قطاع النفط والغاز بالرواتب العالية، واعتبروه قطاعاً قيماً. وصنفوا رواتبه المجزية، والدور المحوري الذي يلعبه في تطور ونمو اقتصاد الدولة، وأنه من القطاعات التي لا يمكن الاستغناء عنها، كأهم ثلاث صفات إيجابية يتميز بها القطاع. 
أظهرت النتائج أن أبناء وبنات جيل الألفية والجيل "زد" المتميزين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هم الأكثر اهتماماً بالقطاعات التي يعتقدون أنها ستكون الأكثر تأثراً بالتقنيات الجديدة. وعالمياً، قال 42% منهم إن التقنيات الجديدة سيكون لها تأثير كبير على قطاع النفط والغاز، في حين قال 56% الشيء ذاته بالنسبة للرعاية الصحية، و53% لعلوم الحياة والمستحضرات الصيدلانية، و73% لقطاع التكنولوجيا.

للاطلاع على المزيد من النتائج الرئيسية أدناه:

منهجية الاستطلاع

شمل استطلاع أدنوك للآراء حول "موظفي المستقبل" 3075 مقابلة كمية مع الكفاءات الشابة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في 10 دول تمثل مزيجاً من الاقتصادات العالمية المهمة ومنتجي ومستهلكي النفط والغاز. وشملت هذه الدول: الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وكندا، والمملكة المتحدة، وفرنسا، وروسيا، والصين، والهند، واليابان، والمملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات.

وركز الاستطلاع على الطلاب في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والمهنيين الشباب ضمن ثلاث مراحل رئيسية:

طلاب المرحلة الثانوية في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات الذين يدرسون مادة واحدة على الأقل ضمن هذه المجالات كجزء من المنهج الدراسي للمدارس الثانوية
طلاب المرحلة الجامعية في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات الذين يدرسون مادة واحدة ضمن هذه المجالات كمادتهم الرئيسية في دراستهم الجامعية
المهنيون الشباب: الذين درسوا مادة من مواد العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كمادتهم الرئيسية في الدراسة الجامعية وكانوا يعملون في وظائف بدوام كامل لمدة تقل عن خمس سنوات

للاطلاع على الخبر الصحفي عن استطلاع أدنوك للآراء حول "موظفي المستقبل"، يرجى الضغط هنا.